Curriculum & Pedagogy: The big picture of curriculum

I’ve been thinking a lot about the “big picture” of curriculum in relation to my teaching areas of physics and maths, i.e. the notion in Kerrie’s lecture, due to Grumet (1981, p. 115) that “curriculum is the collective story we tell our children about our past, our present and our future.” What knowledge and skills do I want my students to take away from my classes? I know that 10 years down the line, unless they have had cause to use these skills, my students won’t remember how to do many of the calculations they learned in a high school algebra course. I believe that the most important elements of math and science at a high school level are to learn how to think (creative problem solving skills) and to gain a curiosity about the world and a desire to learn. My feeling is that the key to attaining this will be appealing to their natural curiosity about the world and things that matter to them.

Grumet, M. (1981) Restitution and reconstruction of educational experience: an auto-biographical method for curriculum theory (Ch. 4). In Lawn, M. and Barton, L. (Eds) Rethinking curriculum studies: a radical approach (pp. 115 – 130). New York: John Wiley & Sons

One thought on “Curriculum & Pedagogy: The big picture of curriculum

Leave a Reply

